NEWS! UN Opportunity for young media professionals

Author photoby Impactpool

The UN Department of Public Information invites junior and mid-level journalists, to apply for The Reham al-Farra Memorial Journalism (RAF) fellowship (fully funded). Individuals from specified countries who are already working full-time as media professionals may be eligible to apply. Closing date May 21, 2017.
Un opportunity for young media professionals df62ff5c ade7 46c1 a67b c58b90f69915

The Reham al-Farra Memorial Journalism (RAF) fellowship takes place each fall at UN headquartes, at the time of the opening of the General Assembly. The duration of the programme is approximately three weeks. The programme consists of briefings on a broad range of topics, visits to news organizations, interviewing senior officials and more. It gives a first hand experience from the UN and is an opportunity to exchange experiences with other professionals.
Eligible candidates must:

  • be under 35 years old
  • be a fulltime working journalist
  • be proficient in oral and written English
  • possess a passport valid until at least April 2018
  • be a national of a developing country or country in transition, as defined by the United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs (below)

“The Programme is not intended to provide basic skills training to broadcasters and journalists as all participants are already working as media professionals. The Programme also does not lead to employment by the UN.”
The RAF fellowship is open to full-time working journalists who are nationals and residents of:

Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cabo Verde, Cambodia, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, China, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Cote d’Ivoire, Cuba, Cyprus, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Lao, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Palestine (State of), Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Russia, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Syria, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Viet Nam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe
Applications must be submitted, by the latest, May 21, 2017.

Interested in applying?

Find more information, FAQs and how to apply.

Photo: A group of journalism students visiting Radio Okapi. Un groupe de jeunes étudiants en journalisme visitant la Radio Okapi. Photo by MONUSCO/Abel Kavanagh, Flickr CC



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s