MADE IN NIGERIA ~ By Dike Chukwumerije

OBLONG MEDIA


I believe in One Nigeria. I know, you’re going to start asking me why – with herdsman running rampage, and Oba saying ‘jump in lagoon’, and Arewa Youth giving till October 1, and Evans and co waiting for me at home; with corruption, dysfunction and discriminatory cut-off marks, bombings in the South and shootings in the North; with President promising to work according to vote, bad schools, no-light, poor hospitals, bad roads; with Dino waxing new hits every day, newspaper trials and no convictions; with billions stashed in Ikoyi apartment – what can I say? It’s home.

For one, I like the smell of suya… And that early morning drive out of Jos this time of the year, with the fog like lingerie faintly masking the topography of beauty. I tell you, I grew up here, you know, born in that maelstrom that is Mushin, drinking in the sights from…

View original post 603 more words

Leave a Reply

